Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] 1st Track Session, after only 25 minutes the engine busts! LS F#$%%## P#### OF S#%T

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2016, 02:32 PM
carlvr
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1st Track Session, after only 25 minutes the engine busts! LS F#$%%## P#### OF S#%T

Now that I have vented a little, let me describe what happened
Maybe its not the cars fault, maybe it is.. Let see
I am fairly new to the Z06 and have owned it for about a year. it has 40 k miles on it, its a 2006.
Engine has been built by a reputable company 2 years ago.. Full engine job, Scat Chevy Ultra Q-Lite Stroker Rods, Manley Pistons, Ported heads, valve job, valve springs. Basically everything.. The engine should be bullet proof. Conservative cam, only 500 whp, but good torque

Fast forward to yesterday. Car is all set to hit the the track.. Brakes ready, tires ready. Everything seems fine. Track is Inde Motorsport Ranch.. 100 mile drive there, everything good. Hit the track at 8:00.. But the last lap, the last few turns, start hearing some odd intermittent noises, almost like the tires picked something up or maybe splitting tread and smacking against the fender (at least in the helmet thats what it sounded like)...

no such luck. As I make the last few turns to go into the pits, I get a low oil pressure light and the car shuts off. 45 min later I got it started, awful noise from the engine, oil pressure about 15
There was a metal to metal screeching sound too for a little while which went away. not its just a very heavy knock. needless to say in needs an engine rebuild.. oil pressure cool is about 40

So I start pulling out my hair, thinking how this could have happened..

Here is what I know..
            Oil level fine before and after the run