Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] C6 Z06 Gears Grinding When Stopping or Rev Matching

Old 02-26-2017, 08:22 PM
VelocitasAngelus
Cruising

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default C6 Z06 Gears Grinding When Stopping or Rev Matching

Background:
This is my first time posting on here. I have been reading CF for years, ever since I bought my C6 Z06 in January 2012. I have done a lot of work to the car and mostly it’s been fun and never any unsolvable issues until now. I just had ERL dry sleeve and 454 package installed on my LS7 block. I took that short block and installed all my old part including WCCH stage 2 heads, K501 cam, ZR1 clutch from Katech, and many other goodies. I also have a RPM Transmission TR6060 LVL VI that was installed back in 2013.

Issues:
The issue I am experiencing is with the clutch and transmission. When I installed the clutch and transmission about a week ago after the engine install, the clutch felt super light and had a little bit of dead space prior to engagement (2 inches of spongy). When I shift gears, the car doesn’t let me shift gears fast. It holds me in neutral for a second or so, until the RPMs drop some, then I can actually go into the new gear. This has never happened until now. Also while driving and coming to a stop, if I leave it in 1st gear and press the clutch in, right before I come to a full stop the car will grind the gears. Finally, while I drive around if I try to downshift and rev match the car will also grind the gears. It’s a horrible sound that I’ve heard twice in my entire life and now I hear it everyday. If you have heard it in the past, you know what I’m talking about and it sucks. I hate that sound.

Troubleshooting Already Completed: