Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] WCCH bronze guides are shot

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2018, 07:12 PM
bjmsam
Pro

Received 38 Likes on 32 Posts

Originally Posted by chadyellowz06
I've been porting cylinder heads for 26 years and I've never seen anything like this. The only LS heads that are wearing guides are the LS7 and LS9. the LS9 is wearing the intake guides because the Ti intake valve has a crap CrN coatings on these valves which varies from valve to valve even brand new ones right out of the box. Tumble polishing at Del-West helps but is far from a fix.

Now, for guides wearing from driving around town... every case I have seen of guides in spec have been from a 100% track car, stock or modded. To date I have seen 2 stock heads in spec, both 100% track cars only, one had 24k track miles but a ring land took out the intake valve when it broke. I have yet to see one LS7 head reworked that has been in spec and I've worked on most all of them. AHP are the only ones I have not seen yet, and I plan on trying those guides myself (I have to call them tomorrow at 11:30am to discuss).