Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Launching my stock Z06 - damaging the car over time, and what parts other than clutch

Old 11-12-2013, 03:22 AM
Adam_W
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Launching my stock Z06 - damaging the car over time, and what parts other than clutch

Since buying my Z06 6 months ago or so, I've never launched it. (I'm relatively new to sports cars, so if it sounds like I don't know very much, it's because I don't.)

I broke down tonight out of curiosity and finally launched it a few times, based on what I remember from Ranger's directions. (Bring up to X rpms - I used around 2500 - then quickly release the clutch and wait for the tires to gain traction before squeezing the throttle).

I wasn't very good, and alternated between having it bog vs. way too much wheelspin.

But I was wondering, to what extent does this damage or create wear on the car? And what parts does it damage/wear down, other than the clutch and tires? Does the sudden jolt through the drivetrain loosen or break other components?

It was fun, but I'm not rich and don't have the time to be replacing parts or costly repairs. On the other hand, if it's there's not huge impact on my car (and I'm going to start doing the Ranger method for changing out the clutch fluid), then I'm going to do launches more often and hopefully get better at it.
Old 11-12-2013, 06:52 AM
ghoust
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

half shafts in your independant rear suspension take a beating during drag racing as well.
Old 11-12-2013, 09:53 AM
Turbooo2u
Le Mans Master

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

By perfecting your technique, you could break something major. Do you feel lucky? I did the same thing a number of years ago with a ricermobile. Before I knew it, I was out $900 for a repair.