C6 Forced Induction/Nitrous C6 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Pulley Upgrades, Intercoolers, Wet and Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Heading to the wind tunnel

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2017, 07:36 PM
RecMech
Pro

Received 325 Likes on 148 Posts

Default Heading to the wind tunnel

We have an appointment on the 23rd at the A2 Wind Tunnel in Morresville, NC. This will be our first time down there. I am hoping to ensure the car has a good f/r balance and then focus on reducing drag during the tests.

I have 2 hoods, my homemade cowl as well as a new VFN Sunoco cowl. I may try to locate a cheap stock hood to get a baseline number as well.

Will also be testing changes to the spoiler, splitter, side skirts, hood vents, wheel covers, mirrors, cowl, grille opening, fenders, etc.

Data should be helpful on our quest for more mph, as well as ensuring a level of safety.

Should be an experience.. I have no aero background, but I did read a book

My hood:

vs. VFN

Last edited by RecMech; 10-05-2017 at 07:39 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by RecMech:
Nowanker (12-02-2017), yur2slo (10-06-2017)
Old 10-05-2017, 10:11 PM
darknit
Pro
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

every time I have my c6 up on the lift I get upset looking at the rear bumper design from underneath... it looks like it has to catch a ton of air at high speeds and mess with the rear stability some... I've thought about building my own front splitter extended to middle of engine bay possibly and a custom rear diffuser that would extend to middle of rear suspension cradle... I worry more about airflow under my car then over I guess...

if you can; set up a go-pro under car pointed to rear and see how much wind tunnel smoke gets hung up by rear bumper ???
Old 10-06-2017, 11:40 AM
neverstop
Melting Slicks

Received 108 Likes on 102 Posts

SO COOL. really interested to see what data comes out of this.