C6 Forced Induction/Nitrous C6 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Pulley Upgrades, Intercoolers, Wet and Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need Harmonic Balancer Advice LS3 Dry Sump

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2019, 08:30 AM
Florida_1959
Advanced

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Need Harmonic Balancer Advice LS3 Dry Sump

Ok so Im new to the LS engine so Im going to ask a couple questions that may seem dumb, but I was always taught the only dumb question is the one you fail to ask.
Putting an AA supercharger on a 2012 GS with dry sump and M6. I decided that while I was in that deep I would replace the balancer with a Power Bond 10% OD part # PB081503-SS10.
so here are my questions.
1) Is it advisable to get one of the balancer installer tools off ebay for the initial balancer pull in?
2) Since the balancer is not keyed to the crankshaft, (I know I'm pinning it) but everyone says to measure the distance from the crank nose on the old balancer and compare it to the new one to determine the depth so the belts line up. My question is, if the balancer is a press fit, what stops the depth other than the "fit and torque". What do you do if it goes in too far or doesn't go in the same? There is really no remedy, you cant over torque it to try and pull it in further, and cant under torque to not pull it in so far because that's what keeps it in position. Is the balancer going to be in the correct position because it will stop against the oil pump gear?
Second, I will have no issues removing the old bolt as I have a 3/4" impact that should back it right out. I have a large torque wrench for the install so tightening wont be an issue, but wondering the best way to stop the crank from turning. Can I put the car in gear and just use that for holding the crank from turning? Or do I really need to get the flywheel locking tool?
3) Can anyone confirm the ARP bolt number for the 2012 LS3 (dry sump) is 234-2504?