C6 Scan & Tune Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, and Fuel Management for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LC1 Hook up w/HPTuners?

Old 05-10-2012, 11:40 AM
Michael_D
Safety Car

Received 361 Likes on 270 Posts

Default LC1 Hook up w/HPTuners?

I am new to tuning, but found the need to learn, so I bought HP Tunners Pro, an LC1, Bannish's books and Maslic's book. Where I live, there are no chassis dyno's or pro tuners to rely on within close proximity, which is why I'm going this. Well that I just want to learn it as well.... I like to work on my own rigs.

I just swapped cams and ported heads on my 08 Z06, and have it ready to hit the start button today. A pro tuner took pity on me, and was kind enough to send me a base tune for the engine mods. The "plan" was to tune the car the best I could without the aid of a dyno, then trailer it to the only dyno available for final tweaking (300 miles away from me, and over two mountain passes).

So getting to my question(s), I have been reviewing the LC1 wiring diagrams, HP Tuner diagrams and instructions, and watched a very informative video from "The Tuning School" demonstrating how to set up the LC1 in HP Tuners. It looks like I hook up the LC1's analogue output to #1 on the MPVI's green input strip.

What I don't get is the ground. The LC1 instructions say to bundle the system and heater grounds and then run them common to the engine block. But then the HP Tuners instructions say to run the LC1 ground to the #5 input on the green input strip. It doesn't say which ground either...

So where should I run the LC1's ground wires??

The LC1 instructions say to run the 12V input to a switched and 5 amp fused - 12V source, but I've read on the forums where folks like to run straight to the battery.... Where do you guys hook the 12V supply?? Do you use a fuse?