C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Slippage with clutch when shifting at high RPM...

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2012, 05:46 PM
ck_1la@yahoo.com
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slippage with clutch when shifting at high RPM...

I have a 2008 C6 LS3 w/ Z51 package and about 47k miles. Transmission is a 6-Speed Manual.

I have two questions. Any advice woudl be greatly appreciated:

ONE:
When I shift gears from: 2>3 (just started having issues today – 6 Sept.), 3>4, 4>5 and 5>6 and the RPM is ABOVE 6250 RPM it seems like I lose power and the car slows and there is no acceleration - then suddenly the clutch or transmission (I am not sure as I am not an expert) seems to grab and take hold.

After what seems like a 1.5 to 3 second delay, after I have released the clutch, it seems to grab and then climb back to the RPM it should be at and then speed starts to increase again. This only happens when the RPM are above 6250 and I am driving the car “hard” (and leaving a Mustang, Camaro SS or Mercedes AMG 63 – which can hold its own against my lowly LS3 I might add - in the dust).

Any thoughts on what might be wrong and what is the best way to diagnose the problem without wasting money? (I am of course taking it easy from here on out – as a clutch job costs $1700 I am told – that is with tax and tip included).

TWO:
I trust that the clutch is also considered a “maintenance item” and NOT covered under GM’s 100k Drive-train Policy. If you know anything about this and or how to get it covered under Warranty, I would appreciate that too.

Thanks in advance – CK. (Houston, Texas – where Corvettes don’t like the heat!)

Last edited by ck_1la@yahoo.com; 09-10-2012 at 01:37 PM.
Old 09-06-2012, 06:49 PM
SUB VETTE
SUBVETTE
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 89 Likes on 62 Posts