C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005 A6 trans swap - torque tube question

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2022, 05:58 PM
gfun
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2005 A6 trans swap - torque tube question

Hi Everone, I have a 2005 c6 with a bad trans and rear differential. I got a really good deal on a 2007 6l80 with the rear dif. My question is, will my 2005 torque tube bolt into the 6l80 trans without issues? or will I need a 2007 torque tube as well? I have searched all around and can find the answer. I believe 2005 has a different torque tube than 2007 (my new trans), but it's not clear if I will need to swap the torque tube as well.

Sorry if this is a basic question. I am a newbie Thanks
Old 08-18-2022, 10:03 PM
da6speed
Burning Brakes

Received 89 Likes on 78 Posts

I would be more concerned about the wiring. The 2005 has an entirely different ecm/wiring harness than the 2006+.. I don't think it's going to be as easy as swapping the torque tube/trans/diff.
Old 08-18-2022, 10:10 PM
gfun
4th Gear

Thank you. Besides the electrical and computer, would the torque tube bolt on?
Old 08-18-2022, 11:26 PM
subfloor@centurytrans
Supporting Vendor

Received 775 Likes on 504 Posts
2020 Corvette of the Year Finalist (track prepared)
C6 of Year Winner (track prepared) 2019

Originally Posted by gfun
Hi Everone, I have a 2005 c6 with a bad trans and rear differential. I got a really good deal on a 2007 6l80 with the rear dif. My question is, will my 2005 torque tube bolt into the 6l80 trans without issues? or will I need a 2007 torque tube as well? I have searched all around and can find the answer. I believe 2005 has a different torque tube than 2007 (my new trans), but it's not clear if I will need to swap the torque tube as well.

Sorry if this is a basic question. I am a newbie Thanks