C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need some information on 2013 LS7 engines

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2017, 07:53 PM
Red06Vette
Racer

Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts

Default Need some information on 2013 LS7 engines

I posted this in the Z06 section with zero replies, maybe someone here can help.

I am currently in the process of installing an LS7 in my 06 coupe. The crate engine I purchased has a date of 4/18/2013. I have read on here about a titanium connecting rod issue that causes bearing failure and I'm wondering:

1) is this engine affected?
2) did GM correct this issue, if so when.

Not sure if it's relevant since it's a crate engine, but I don't want to go thru this install and then have issues.

Thanks for help you can give.

John
Old 12-06-2017, 12:44 AM
Tech
Safety Car

Received 248 Likes on 215 Posts

I’m no expert but I thought the issue was with the bearing material, not the connecting rods. As far as I know, there have been no issues with the Ti rods except for bushing failure during Katech’s endurance testing. I haven’t read of a single bushing failure outside of that testing.
Old 12-06-2017, 07:33 AM
Mordeth
Melting Slicks

Received 1,678 Likes on 878 Posts
2018 C6 of Year Finalist
St. Jude Donor '10, '17