Received 1,440 Likes on 940 Posts
2022 C7 of the Year Finalist - Modified
C7 of the Year - Modified Finalist 2021
Finalist 2020 C7 of the Year -- Modified
2018 C7 of Year Winner
2017 C7 of Year Finalist
St. Jude Donor '13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-'20-'21-'22

Default Dilemma - Ordering a new Vette

Howdy, newbie here. I'm wanting a new Vette, found this forum and am quite impressed with the content and participation of many posters, so I joined, and here goes;

I'm finally in a position financially to drop the cash on a new Vette. I was set on ordering a base model 1LT with some options, or perhaps a 2LT 2013 C6 in crystal red tintcoat, 6 speed manual, chrome wheels, spoiler, and call it good at around $53,000 MSRP.

In veiwing several informative posts by Ken Fichtner, I've learned that the cutoff date for a guaranteed build on sold orders by GM on a 2013 C6 was late October 2012. I wanted to wait untill after the presidential election was decided before placing an order, because if the occupant of the White house gets re-elected, I will hold off and sit on my cash and see what is left of our America, then decide. (Sorry to get political, but this is a deal breaker with me)

So, we now understand that GM has a C7 coming out next year, but won't even build the first one untill June/July 2013, which likey means a late summer 2013 delivery, then a month or two of play with it, and right into storage. Not that this time frame is a necessarily a deal breaker, however there ARE some potential deal breakers as I type this - namely the unknowns like body styling, colors, pricing, and dare I even bring up possible Camaro style tail lights!

This quandry is no bitch mind you, rather a nice problem to have, if you will. I'm just wondering how many other of you gents are sitting on the same fence, waiting to see what the voters decide, coupled with what GM gives us with the new C7.
Old 10-31-2012, 06:24 AM
Z_Rocks
Drifting

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts