Sponsored by:

First track day report

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2014, 08:13 PM
gthal
Safety Car

Received 1,170 Likes on 486 Posts
Default First track day report

I just got back from my first track day with the C7 and thought I'd share my thoughts on the car.

For context, I generally get to the track somewhere in the range of 8 to 12 days a summer. Most of the track days are 30 minute on, 30 minute off days... so 3+ hours of actual seat time per day most (not all) times I'm at the track. I run in the "red" group which is the group immediately below the instructors. Having said that, I'm far from a pro but I do have a decent amount of experience.

Cars I have owned/run at the track...
  • 2 different E92 M3's (one a 6MT and one a DCT)
  • C63 AMG coupe
  • An E36 M3 (this was a dedicated track, only car)

Cars I have had extended lapping sessions in at the track...
  • 997 GT3RS
  • SLS AMG
  • C6 GS

Track prep

• Carbotech XP10 pads
  • Motul 600 fluid
  • C7 track spec alignment
  • Mobil 1 15W-50
  • Differential fluid change

Other than that, the car was stock. I even forgot to put the rotor cooling rings on when I put the XP10's on last night

Thoughts from the day...

I was a bit apprehensive with the car my first session out. Stories of brake failures, oil leaks, Z51 brake inadequacy, etc were all on my mind So, until I had a good feel for the car, I took it easy. The apprehension pretty much went away about 5 minutes into my first lapping session

At first, I had a tough time with being as smooth and fluid as I'd like. The steering is so direct and responsive and the throttle and brakes react so quickly to input that the car reacts very fast to any driver input. By my second session, I had smoothed things out and then REALLY started to appreciate how direct and responsive this car is. It does EXACTLY what you ask and IMMEDIATELY when you ask it. Once you understand this and get a feel for the car it is immensely fun.