? about C7 allocations and constraints

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2016, 10:05 AM
markcz
Tech Contributor

Received 131 Likes on 113 Posts

Default ? about C7 allocations and constraints

I've decided to order myself a 2LT Z51 coupe

I ordered an '07 and did R8C, and I've been surfing this forum for over 10 years, so I pretty much know how this works.

At least I thought I did

I just called two local dealers (instead of driving 150 miles to Atlanta) to ask if they would accept my GM Supplier Discount and if they had any open Z51 allocations for this week.

Dealer 1 said 'probably' for the supplier discount and 'we can order whatever you want'. When I further explained how I thought the allocations worked and informed him that Z51 was limited to 60% this week, the response was "uhhhhhhh". I politely asked him to check on both and asked that he called me back when he knew for sure.

Dealer 2 said 'definitely' for the discount and seemed to think that 'sold orders' could be placed at any time by any dealer. I asked about the 60% Z51 constraint and he said he had to check with the guy who usually handles vette orders.

Both of those calls were about an hour ago, and neither have called back yet. To me it seems like it shouldn't be too hard to find out if they had an allocation available, which I'm sure would result in an immediate call telling me to come on over.

Is it the same now as it was in '07 and these guys just don't know how BG does business, or has it changed?

TIA for any helpful replies.
Old 01-08-2016, 10:15 AM
Rooster OG
Le Mans Master

Received 1,694 Likes on 1,240 Posts
St. Jude Donor '15