Sponsored by:

GM and the C7 A8 problems etc.

Old 06-28-2016, 12:06 PM
Dif
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 716 Likes on 436 Posts

Default GM and the C7 A8 problems etc.

So far my A8 is working great and I feel for those that are having problems.
It doesn't make it OK, but when considering the number of A8 transmissions produced it's a relatively small number with problems.
For the sake of conversation:
My background is Precision tool making and design.
I've thought to myself how can they test the hell out these cars and then still have some of these problems.
With more thought and looking at what I've seen over the years, you have to consider everything that goes into design and manufacturing.
The main thing is the supplier and the Quality and repetitive tolerances of parts made for the design of said item, in this case the A8 Transmission.
The design can be spot on but, if the parts are not, there lies a problem with the final product, and visa versa
So again, how is it these cars are tested to the limit before mass producing them and still have problems.
IMO it's because when they take the parts and use them in said item, they pick and choose parts that meet the designed tolerances for the test mules.
But once production starts there's always those parts in the mix that slip through and not quite the quality or within tolerances they were designed to be.
Sure the parts are inspected for quality to ensure they're built to the design print and specified tolerances.
But, Nobody checks Every Single Part, they check only so many, as in 1 out of 10 or whatever.
Now multiply this and look at Every other part needed to design and build any vehicle of any Brand vehicle, add human error, and it's amazing they don't have more problems then they do.
On another note, in my experience, you also have to consider what happens to the product when it gets in the hands of the Consumer