Sponsored by:

New Mod - Fuel Door Emergency Release ver. 2.0

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2017, 08:03 PM
Frodo
Melting Slicks

Received 586 Likes on 266 Posts

Default New Mod - Fuel Door Emergency Release ver. 2.0

This mod is for coupes. I have no knowledge of how verts might be modded.

This mod is for those who wish to keep the locking fuel door intact but fear having the lock mechanism fail to release. The mod is easy, so easy I'm surprised GM didn't do it for us. Here's the parts you need, I had them laying around the house.

parts are water line used for ice maker, ferrule for water line, picture hanger wire, small heat shrink tubing, copper crimp bead, anchor pad, cable ties. Not shown is a split ring I used for a wire pull

I'm not going to describe how to remove the wheel well liner, its easy and likely has been documented somewhere before. So we start with making a hole for the release cable. This cable will be accessed inside the rear storage compartment. Drill a hole in the side of the storage box about where you see mine. Exact location doesn't seem to be important, but it must be in front of the cooling duct. Don't drill into the front of the box, the wheel well liner will interfere with it. (see ver 1.0 ) The hole must be the size of the ferrule, see, cuz we're going to push the ferrule through from the inside. The ferrule isn't long enough to go through the box liner, the box itself, and into the water line far enough to hold well so I pulled back the liner and put the ferrule through just the box, then slid the water line over the ferrule from outside, holding it all together. Here its assembled.

drill hole into side of the box

Pull water line up behind the bracket here and tie it down. Hold it up over the wheel arch and size it by cutting it off 4 or 5 inches short of the door lock assembly. Any length is close enough, this is all hidden.