Sponsored by:

Looking at Vettes

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2017, 02:59 AM
oldmantex1
Advanced

Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Looking at Vettes

Hello everyone I've been a long time lurker and have enjoyed your forums very much.

I am getting up in age and figure if I am ever going to buy a Vette it needs to be while I am still working, so I shot the wife a link with a 2015 Yellow Vette for sale and asked "What do you think"? I'm working nights right now and in about 10 minutes my phone rang, of course it was her. She said it's beautiful, are you joking or are you serious. So within about 2 minutes I get the go ahead.

My problem is

a) I've never owned a Vette, but have wanted one for years so I have no experience to draw from on this purchase.
b) The car I'm looking at seems to be well below market value, which has my "radar" going off. It's a 2015 LT2 for 40K even. It has been on Autotrader here in Houston for a few weeks and the price started out around 43.5K. It has 26,000 miles and is listed by a "private seller".
C) I noticed the same car for sale on Autotrader via a import/export dealer which again has my radar going off again (Same VIN number). This make me wonder if it's this import/export outfit actually selling it, or is the owner using them as another source to sell the car. The price on the import/export outfit is 43.5K.

I guess I'm looking from some input from you guys that have owned these fine automobiles on exactly how to make sure I'm not buying a bucket of junk, or someone else's problems.

I haven't talked to the owner yet, and probably won't try to contact him until this weekend as I am on nights 6P-6A until Friday morning.

I have done a search based on the VIN number and don't see any claims or accidents, and services seemed to have been done at the proper mileages at a dealership not far from where I live.