Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Deceased Before Delivery - Need Advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2017, 08:53 AM
flenn
Advanced

Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts

I'm not a lawyer but this seems like a pretty simple question of damages. Did the dealership incur damages/costs due to this unfortunate event? They brought a car into their inventory that they otherwise would not have ordered but the question of damages won't be answered until they sell it. At that point it can be determined if they've covered the floor plan expense, delivery charge, administrative costs, etc. If they sell the car for less than the original amount, they've incurred a "cost" (even though we assume that they were making a profit at the original amount). And if so, the estate should make them whole.

What puts the OP at a disadvantage is that the dealership ultimately controls the selling price of the car to the next buyer so they'll determine whether they make a profit or accept a loss. But keep in mind, there are a lot of Chevy dealers that just don't sell Corvettes and having a loaded GS on their lot ties up a lot of their credit line and could be very difficult to sell or trade to other dealers.
Old 12-08-2017, 10:31 AM
fourmat
Pro

Received 127 Likes on 96 Posts

Originally Posted by Cjunkie
You get all 20k back not a Penney less. A delivery has not been taken.
Ive never used this card in my life but if they don’t contact your attorney AND your states Attorney General.
Any reputable dealer should stand up and refund deposit based on the circumstance. It is a sellable vehicle and he is not going to loose 5 k on it. Do not pick the vehicle up and get something in writing to him A.S.A.P. before the car arrives. He is a car dealer this is the business he chose to be in.
Old 12-08-2017, 10:37 AM
Steve_R
Team Owner

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3,289 Likes on 1,399 Posts
St. Jude Donor '12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17