C7 General Discussion General C7 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is the paint peeling off on my 2018 374 mile Z06?

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2018, 03:56 PM
Allen_B
Burning Brakes

Received 256 Likes on 144 Posts

Originally Posted by Thunder22
do a search on GM bowling green head of Quality control assurance you'll get his name. Just email him.
Will do but I'll give my local shop another opportunity to escalate it 1st. If they are not able or willing, will try to reach back to Mike Furman who we bought the car from. Mike moves a lot of Corvettes and I'd think if anyone on the planet that's at my level and would be able to reach GM Corporate it would seem to be him...

Hate to admit it but I really don't want to be "that guy" with the shop but I also want to address the root cause. It seems a touchup/repaint on the affected edges is a temporary band-aid approach.

I am not an engineer or an auto body professional but seems peculiar to me that I NEVER had any issues like this with my previous '09 C6 or any other GM product that also has similar "plastic" bumper covers...

V/r

Allen
Old 02-24-2018, 04:22 PM
JoesC5
Team Owner

Received 1,699 Likes on 1,213 Posts

Originally Posted by Foosh
I know Joe, but I believe a change was made to a lighter-weight type of SMC at some point during C6 production, and fully-transitioned into the C7.

During the infamous "flying roof" panel era of the C6 Z06 (it happened to my 06 Z06), panel de-bonding was blamed on the new lighter SMC material they used on the roof, and the fix was said to be going back to the previous heavier version of SMC they had been using. That's what they told me they did to my car. Whether that was a completely factual explanation or not, I do not know.

There are different types of SMC in terms of composition, and it would make sense for a lighter SMC material to have more flex.