Looking at my first Corvette

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2018, 11:47 PM
jcbravata
Heel & Toe

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Looking at my first Corvette

Hello:
Always wanted a corvette and the time has come to make my dream a reality. I was seeking a convertible, 1LT. When I got to the dealer, they were not high on the convertible. They had a fully loaded coupe, 3LT/Z51 package. So my question - convertible 1LT or couple 3LT/Z51 package. Price is comparable so that is not an issue.

Welcome any feedback as I'm new to this car. Thank you.

Christopher
Old 03-03-2018, 12:56 AM
Kevin A Jones
Race Director

Received 11,684 Likes on 5,589 Posts

It's just personal preference. Prefer convertibles myself as the it's such a fine experience driving a C7 convertible on a beautiful day. Much less road noise, I like having an actual trunk and they hold their value much better than coups.
Drive both and make your own decision.
Read this thread, might help!
https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...ht-a-vert.html

Last edited by Kevin A Jones; 03-03-2018 at 01:09 AM.
The following users liked this post:
Rebel Yell (03-03-2018)
Old 03-03-2018, 01:03 AM
DALE#3
Le Mans Master

Received 3,129 Likes on 1,828 Posts

Originally Posted by Kevin A Jones
It's just personal preference.
Perfect Link Selection
Old 03-03-2018, 01:12 AM
jimmbbo
Melting Slicks

Received 950 Likes on 609 Posts

As Kevin said, coupe vs 'vert is personal taste,
For the "add ons", FWIW
For normal driving IMO the base Stingray with a 2LT gives the most bang for the buck...
For track use, upgrading to Z51 or Z06 starts to make sense, but at a cost...
When I was on the hunt for my C7, I had a 3LT Z51, 3LT Z06 and 2LT Stingray to choose from and for my use (mostly cruising with an occasional trip to the track), the Stingray made the most sense, as I would not be using the Z's to anywhere near their capability.
FFWIW, I couldn't be happier with my selection.
snappy2u (03-05-2018)
Old 03-03-2018, 01:17 AM
NGaVette