Sponsored by:

C7 for teenage daughter

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2019, 11:28 PM
spinkick
Melting Slicks

Received 544 Likes on 324 Posts

Dad!!?

Last edited by spinkick; 02-06-2019 at 11:29 PM.
The following users liked this post:
Glenn Quagmire (02-08-2019)
Old 02-07-2019, 07:15 AM
Ih2lose
Melting Slicks

Received 330 Likes on 196 Posts

Originally Posted by Trihawk
Brian,
It is a credit to you that you are seeking out opinions. As a 17 year old, your daughter's highest risk of dying from any single thing is from a motor vehicle accident. Please contemplate the graphic below. Although it is unlikely she will die that way, since death (or injury/disability) is a high consequence outcome I recommend a more cautious choice. Although she sounds like a conscientious person, she still lacks experience. A driving class is no substitute for years of seat time. As a surgeon, I have had to deliver the bad news to parents of dead children from trauma (including car accidents). I know what they would tell you also.
Good luck

Thanks for shairing . I just had our insurance company come in for a drivers saftey course for our driver of our fleet of trucks and the number were surprising,
Old 02-07-2019, 09:18 PM
ByRiver
Safety Car

Received 613 Likes on 422 Posts

Originally Posted by ImpliedConsent
I'm doing the same thing with my 15yr old daughter. I refuse to let her work but I insist she maintain her 4.0+GPA and work on applying to colleges (probably a full ride). That's a full time job in itself. She might not get accepted to a top tiered college and certainly isn't an Olympic hopeful. Daddy is not even close to being rich, but I can cover her 100% even if she doesn't get a full ride.