C7 Tech/Performance Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Getting to track day

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2017, 09:40 PM
koranke
Racer

Received 204 Likes on 61 Posts
Default Getting to track day

Hey all,

I've got a 2017 GS M7. I've never done a track day before (in a car) and would love to give it a shot. My understanding is that I need to change the oil to a different grade and also change the brake fluid to track-grade. I also understand that they recommend getting a track alignment, but I would probably skip that due to the expense of changing it back and forth. Finally, I've read of people switching the brake pads to track-grade.

So, two questions. One, for a novice like myself, which of these are really needed? Do I really risk damaging the car if I don't change the oil and brake fluid, for example? How important is it to use track-grade pads?

Two, the nearest track is around a 2 hour drive away. If I switch out the oil and brake fluid at home, I've got a total of 4 hours of highway driving off the track. Is that a potential issue? Do the fluids need to be changed at the track?
Old 07-20-2017, 10:37 PM
BrunoTheMellow
Tech Contributor
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,396 Likes on 999 Posts

Originally Posted by koranke
Hey all,

I've got a 2017 GS M7. I've never done a track day before (in a car) and would love to give it a shot. My understanding is that I need to change the oil to a different grade and also change the brake fluid to track-grade. I also understand that they recommend getting a track alignment, but I would probably skip that due to the expense of changing it back and forth. Finally, I've read of people switching the brake pads to track-grade.