C7 Tech/Performance Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Any open source tuning platforms for a 2018 car?

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2018, 07:02 AM
ashmostro
Racer

Received 51 Likes on 40 Posts
Default Any open source tuning platforms for a 2018 car?

I am a newbie here and also new to Corvette, having just purchased my first one, a 2018 Carbon 65 Grand Sport. I come from a world of Germans, BMW to be exact. I self-tuned my last two bimmers using an open source platform and a laptop. I’d love to do that again to tweak parameters like CAGS, active fuel management and throttle sensitivity while paying a real tuner to mess with the engine map itself.

What open source platforms, if any, exist for this vehicle?

If none, are there commercial tuning devices that allow the end user some freedom to play with key parameters?

Thanks!
-Ash

Last edited by ashmostro; 04-17-2018 at 07:03 AM.
Old 04-17-2018, 11:17 AM
davepl
Le Mans Master

Received 1,500 Likes on 987 Posts

Nothing. There is zero end user support. You want to know the PID for something? Well, it was hard to figure out for the first guy, it should be hard for you too too. That's kind of the attitude 'round here. There's some occasional posturing to flaunt basic knowledge, but there is very little information sharing. Like everything, there are few exceptional members.

But there are great aftermarket tools in HPTuners and (though I've not used them) others as well. Worth the price of admission because they've really sorted it out well.

Take a look at the demo of HPTuners VCM Suite, I think you'll be pleased.

Last edited by davepl; 04-17-2018 at 11:18 AM.
The following users liked this post:
ashmostro (04-17-2018)
Old 04-17-2018, 06:24 PM
FYREANT
I'm Batman..
Pro Mechanic
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 908 Likes on 561 Posts
Tech Contributor

Originally Posted by DAVE396LT1