C7 Tech/Performance Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Track Prep: Race seat, quick release steering, and sensors?

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2018, 10:02 PM
arpphoto
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Track Prep: Race seat, quick release steering, and sensors?

Hi, I just purchased a 2017 C7 GS, 7 speed, LT2 trim with 4000 miles. It will be a dedicated track car to replace my PROJECT cars that let me down track side.

I have been driving with NASA FL and NASA SE for the past 5 years. Tracks I go to are Sebring, Road Atlanta, CMP, Robeling Road, VIR, etc.

On the interior of the car I am installing a 4-pt roll bar, 6-pt harness, fixed back race seat, and a quick release steering wheel... I have a few questions I was hopping to get some help with... (I apologize in advance if these are covered on this forum already. I have done a lot of searching over the last week via Google but most information I can find is about the C6 and older platforms... I am starting to think I should have bought a C5 or C6...)

#1 - Unlike all other cars I have tracked, this car is full of electronic gadgets that I will more than likely never fully understand. What I do understand is that once I remove the stock seats I will loose control over the steering column and mirrors??? I noticed there is a plug-in module for the C6 that resolves this issue... I do not see anything for the C7... How are folks with the C7 getting past these issues when they remove the stock seats?

#2 - As this is a dedicated track car that will not see street use, I have no need for the controls on the steering wheel and would like to install one of my MOMO steering wheels and quick releases... what sort of alarms will I set off when I do this?