C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

Noob question on draining radiator coolant

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2015, 04:44 PM
rsilver
Racer

Received 50 Likes on 37 Posts

Default Noob question on draining radiator coolant

Man I hate to ask this, total noob question and I did search it, but I am trying to drain out radiator coolant to go to the 20/80 mix coolant/water. I found the white drain plug on the drivers side at the bottom of the radiator. I can open it but it will drain all over the the brackets at the bottom and who knows where. Its a Zo7 stage 3 aero. Do you take all those panels off (One has a rivet on it) to catch the fluid? Even ft you do it looks like a lot of fluid will get caught on the brackets at the bottom of the radiator. Maybe that is to be expected but I am trying to avoid a mess on my floor and the car. Is there a trick to catching the fluid and what do you have to remove beside the drain plug?. bob noob

Last edited by rsilver; 08-12-2015 at 05:11 PM. Reason: clarification
Old 08-12-2015, 05:16 PM
dar02081961
Melting Slicks

Received 845 Likes on 497 Posts

Originally Posted by rsilver
Man I hate to ask this, total noob question and I did search it, but I am trying to drain out radiator coolant to go to the 20/80 mix coolant/water. I found the white drain plug on the drivers side at the bottom of the radiator. I can open it but it will drain all over the the brackets at the bottom and who knows where. Its a Zo7 stage 3 aero. Do you take all those panels off (One has a rivet on it) to catch the fluid? Even ft you do it looks like a lot of fluid will get caught on the brackets at the bottom of the radiator. Maybe that is to be expected but I am trying to avoid a mess on my floor and the car. Is there a trick to catching the fluid and what do you have to remove beside the drain plug?. bob noob