C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

Only getting 3 to 4 track days out of CCB pads!

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2017, 06:06 PM
AVETTE
Melting Slicks

Received 688 Likes on 275 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran
Cruise-In III Veteran

Default Only getting 3 to 4 track days out of CCB pads!

I am an intermediate level driver and am only getting 3 to 4 track days out of the 700 dollar front brake pads (550 wholesale plus shipping). This is insane. My Z51 stingray, whose pads were much smaller, lasted longer and were 1/4 the cost.

Is anyone here that has the GM carbon brakes that tracks getting similar results. If I don't upgrade to the upcoming new ZR1 I am thinking seriously about changing over to the AP Racing brakes with 25mm pads. Does anyone out there have experience with the AP Racing setup that replaces the CCB. Another positive of the AP setup is that the rears weigh less than the stock system and the fronts are only 2.5lbs per side heavier.

I was prepared for additional expense but this is stupid. 1 set of the gm pads for the CCB's lasted me 3 track days. At 6 or 700 a pop that is nuts

Last edited by AVETTE; 05-25-2017 at 06:07 PM.
Old 05-25-2017, 06:17 PM
RandomTask
Race Director

Received 276 Likes on 144 Posts

Are you performing the outgas/bedding process?

From my understanding you should be getting a solid season out of those setups. . .
Old 05-25-2017, 06:27 PM
range96
Le Mans Master

Received 1,975 Likes on 1,215 Posts

You may need rotors. As the rotors get used up the pad wear accelerates. You need to remove them and weigh them...

Also, check on Amazon, you will get better pricing...

Last edited by range96; 05-25-2017 at 06:29 PM.
Old 05-25-2017, 07:34 PM
BEZ06
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 835 Likes on 595 Posts

Originally Posted by RandomTask