C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

The Track report. Hot weather. Gspeed stage 0 tested

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2017, 02:38 AM
chuntington101
Melting Slicks

Received 113 Likes on 100 Posts

Originally Posted by 5thGear
Eric's photo show where the hot air goes out through the wheel well which is a common setup for all top level performance cars. The fan pack for these two coolers works well in extracting hot air into the wheel well through the screens. Now you can imagine how much more efficiency you can achieve down the road by just swapping to ZR1 bumper that has the openings. I don't see a need but its an option.
As for handling, I didn't notice any difference. Obviously I am not a pro chasing a tenth of a second. Eric can comment on this as well given his lap times were not far off Tommy Milner Z06 lap time at Road Atlanta.
The new intercooler sets flat vs OEM standing so that's better place for the center of gravity. First oil cooler is light and sets in similar orientation as GM secondary radiator (or auto secondary transmission cooler). Bottom is covered similar to OEM so there is no huge air coming out the intercooler to create a lift situation.
I believe having all the these coolers exhausting hot air away from engine bay is a great advantage in helping other components staying cooler (wires, power steering,..........)
Thanks for the post / insight! I assumed (wrongly) that's GSpeed had opened up the underside of the car to get maximum airflow though the HE / oil cooler! Makes sense to use the stock opening (or maybe a little larger) that's used for the aux rad! Thanks for clearing that up!

Once again I wasn't trying to pick holes in the setup just asking the questions.
Old 09-21-2017, 09:45 AM
5thGear
Drifting

Received 199 Likes on 124 Posts

Originally Posted by chuntington101