C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

Another C7 Z06 Limp Mode question...

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2018, 11:43 AM
ooldguy93
Instructor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Another C7 Z06 Limp Mode question...

Just ran my 2nd track day ( 85 deg. ) with my ( new to me ) '16 Z06

I've got 50+ years W2W and open track experience in many kinds of cars

Car seemed to run well in the AM - faster then other C7 Z's and even with 2 ZL1 1LE Camaro's on the straights. The Camaro's were faster in the corners due to them being on Hoosiers instead of 888's

In the PM I struggled to " inch up " on a well driven STOCK C5 Z
( 355whp ) on the straight's. He's a 15 year track pal

My C7 Z didn't " miss ", ran smooth, but, felt " flat " compared to the AM sessions

240 water and 320 oil / no dash messages

What does " Limp Mode " feel like ?
Old 06-16-2018, 03:14 PM
thebishman
Melting Slicks

Received 731 Likes on 480 Posts

Well the car was pulling loads of power since it was on the cusp of going into limp mode with those high of temperatures.

I’m assuming you car is an A8? If not, get the secondary water radiator installed and you’ll control the engine oil/water temps in any M7 driven sanely.

Bish
Old 06-17-2018, 10:32 AM
ooldguy93
Instructor

just finished installation of the " 2nd rad " and received the G-Speed I.C. bleeder yesterday

I'll be running an SCCA Track Nite on Tuesday as a test session before Road America

My car is an M7

My goal is to get the car back to what it could do on my first track day this season - 50 deg. and dry, ran several sessions " nose to tail " , back and forth, with a Viper ACR in the Advanced Group. The most fun day this year !
Old 06-17-2018, 10:41 AM
davepl
Le Mans Master

Received 1,500 Likes on 987 Posts