C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

Can You Get Traction Off the Line in Your Z06?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2018, 10:57 AM
hey32g
Racer

Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts

Default Can You Get Traction Off the Line in Your Z06?

Hi, might be a strange question, but I'm asking anyway. Can you guys get traction off the line in your Z06?

I had a Manual C6 Grand Sport with crap Good Year Eagle F1's on it. It was my first Corvette and I loved it, but I got so frustrated with the lack of traction I finally sold it. I don't street race at all, but I got sick of Subaru BRZs and Buicks leaving me at stop lights because my tires were spinning. Maybe I'm a lousy driver, but the lack of traction really ruined it for me. I'm 54 and I've driven sports cars all my life, but none with as much low end torque as the Vette. Was it me, the tires, or a combination?

Trying to decide on my next car, I love Corvettes and the C7 Z06 is absolutely beautiful, but I'm afraid I'll feel the same way. I watched a C7 ZR1 video and the owner was talking about having no traction at all and had only put 3,000 miles on the car.

I'd love to hear thoughts from you guys. Please be gentle!
Old 10-12-2018, 11:31 AM
fishpick
Instructor

Received 105 Likes on 56 Posts

In before the following comments and sub comments:
  • You don't know how to drive
    • Learn to feather the throttle
    • Learn to warm up your tires
    • Learn to drive
  • The car is too much for you
    • You need to spend more time in the car
    • You need less car
  • You shouldn't be driving like that on the street
    • danger will robinson, danger
  • If you had an A8 nothing would be wrong
    • #allthetractionmakingtorqueconverter