C7 Z06 Discussion General Z06 Corvette Discussion, LT4 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: GEM Motorsports

Inexpensive track tire

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2019, 07:20 AM
Viking0728
Drifting

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Inexpensive track tire

Has anyone ever tried these for track days? I'm just getting started and this on a 19 that will clear my CCB seems like a good option.

Old 01-16-2019, 09:02 AM
Toddiesel
Drifting

Received 400 Likes on 258 Posts

I haven't tried them for the track, but I had them on my 2013 Mustang GT. They are pretty abysmal, both from a straight line perspective and a cornering perspective. Just to give you an idea, I think the PSS are not that great for putting down the power of our Zs. Having said that, when I went from those ventus v12 evos to the PSS on my Mustang I thought "holy **** this is the stickiest tire on the planet!". They're serious garbage.
Old 01-16-2019, 09:20 AM
Pro

Received 222 Likes on 113 Posts

I put a set on my CTSV, to replace the PS2's. They were a noticeable step down on the track, but they were a fine street tire. They wore a lot slower than the PS2's too.

if you want a high performance track tire, look elsewhere. If you want a reasonable tire that saves you some cash, it's not a bad choice. I recall thinking that they were 85% of the tire for 50% of the price (it has been a few years... ). I can't comment on how they might be on a Z06.
Old 01-16-2019, 09:23 AM
Toddiesel
Drifting

Originally Posted by 6104696
I put a set on my CTSV, to replace the PS2's. They were a noticeable step down on the track, but they were a fine street tire. They wore a lot slower than the PS2's too.