Notices
C8 General Discussion The place to discuss the next generation of Corvette.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No manual trans = Garbage

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2018, 04:59 PM
JerriVette
Race Director

Received 3,947 Likes on 2,177 Posts

17 percentage of c7 buyers pay for a convertible and GM continues to offer a convertible.

GM charges five grand for a convertible option and it requires quite a lot of different parts, possibly government testing etc and yet with 17 percent of all corvette buyers want a convertible GM continues to offer a $5000 convertible option...

Without 23 percent of all corvettes buyers ordering manuals I don’t suggest manual transmission is a safe bet for the 2020 c8..

Where did this rumor start ? The rumor That GM Is not going to offer a manual transmission in the c8?

Was this a GM official announcement ?

I have been driving manual transmission vehicles for the past 40 years... my present corvette is a manual...but that’s said I would like to buy a dct 500 hp rear mid engine targa topped c8..

Still GM is to going to give up 23 percent of it’s customer base....just as GM wouldnt give up 17 percent of it’s convertible buyer customer base...

Even Ferrari the last few years it offered both manual transmission and a dct.....Ferrari sold less than ten manuals in the last year of offering both

23 percentage of production is over 7000 units...

That’s a lot of cabbage to expect any corporation to walk away from...

Dct for many...a manual transmission for sure...

Can’t say which is be a charge item..but I’d say GM will offer both...

Who would disappoint 7000 potientially buyers by not offering an easily purchased manual transmission....which I’m sure suppliers are willing to offer GM such an item at attractive pricing...

The law of supply and demand with regards to GM and it’s suppliers would be foolish to price the 7 speed manual so it didn’t make economic sense for GM to offer it up...