Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Wash and Wax Advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2005, 11:48 PM
drdavidw
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wash and Wax Advice

I'm a newbie here and I just bought my FIRST Corvette (LeMans Blue 2005 C6 Coupe) last week. After driving a Honda Accord previously, I immediately realized that I could no longer take my car to the automatic drive-thru car wash (for obvious reasons). So, I need advice on how best to keep my Vette looking slick and new!

What kind of products do you all use? Soaps, waxes, chamois, sponges, cloths, brushes, window cleaners, interior (dashboard/leather) cleaners, etc.?? Also, how often should I wash the car, and how often do I wax it? I was once told that if you wash and wax too often, you can damage the paint. But if you don't do it often enough, the car looks pretty terrible. Why aren't there specific guidelines about this. The local auto parts store has an entire wall devoted to washing and waxing. Yikes! How do I decide what to get? Is there anything unique about the fiberglass body or particular paint that's used which would cause me to need one type of product over another?

Please help me!
Old 08-24-2005, 12:06 AM
RandyMi
Drifting

Take it to a car wash!!! It's a car, not a new born infant. I live in Michigan, the thought of washing my car, on my driveway in zero degree weather doesnt turn me on! Go to Jax in Bham and buy a club plan.

Last edited by RandyMi; 08-24-2005 at 12:10 AM.
Old 08-24-2005, 12:12 AM
arcticblast
Le Mans Master

Received 240 Likes on 135 Posts
Cruise-In VI Veteran
Cruise-In VII Veteran

First, welcome and congrats on the ride. Enjoy.
If you're like most of us, we tend to get a little obsessive about keeping the Vettes clean and looking good.