Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Plan to re-zaino soon, here’s my plan

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2008, 04:54 PM
madmxnj
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Plan to re-zaino soon, here’s my plan

Okay, I have a 06 Monterey Red vert that’s in fairly good shape with ~7K miles. Always garaged and only outside at work and on a few overnight trips. Rarely does it see rain and its put away at the first snow and it’s not brought out in the spring until after the street sweepers come through.

Last year I switched to Zaino with less than stellar results. I am not a pro, just an enthusiast and want my car to look nice, but don’t expect it to look like a lot of the fabulous work I see on here. I don’t have, nor do I want to get, a random orbital. IMO I have too much stuff in my garage already that I only use once a year or less and I’d rather not add to the collection. If I get my finish looking good and want to step it up a notch I know that’s the direction I need to take. Since I don’t have a RO, I fear the claybar. I know a lot of guys swear by the claybar, and I have also seen plenty of stories that required a RO to fix it up. I’d rather go the elbow grease route now and get it as good as I can.

Like I said, the finish is pretty good. However, my surface prep last year wasn’t good enough so I have some water spots on the horizontal surfaces (hood, trunk lid) under the zaino. Also, when looked at in certain light and angles the surface is kinda foggy/hazy/greasy, like the zaino didn’t properly adhere to the clearcoat. Again, my fault with the surface prep.

So here is my get-well plan, with a few questions thrown in. I wanted to run it by the experts here before I put things into motion.

1. Wash twice with Dawn, two bucket method, nozzle-less rinse after last wash. Dry with guzzler.