Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

washing in winter is bad for your car?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2011, 07:04 PM
mcgilles
Melting Slicks

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Default washing in winter is bad for your car?

asking for my C5 which does go out all year long and for my other two cars which have much more steel on them!

had a guy recently tell me on another car forum that washing cars in the winter is bad for them because "washing in cold weather 'activates' the salt and speeds up corrosion"

I have never heard or such a thing...
I'm no expert but the last time I did the redox equations for salt on my car vs salt on my garage floor the results clearly showed that washing the car in the winter is nothing but good for it.

its been bugging me, I did some internet searches and found nothing but evidence that washing in the winter is not only good, but should be done more frequently when salt is involved than when not. summer dirt is just dirt, winter dirt can do damage if not washed off.

comments?
Old 01-01-2011, 08:09 PM
0Killrwheels@Autogeek
Former Vendor

Received 242 Likes on 206 Posts

I suspect it is more important to get the salt off the car versus allowing to stay on finish and possibly corroding until Spring arrives.

That said, Corvettes really arent the best winter transportation in the snow areas. But should you take it out and want to wash it consider a bucket of warm water and a product like Optimums No Rinse as another option. Those high powered wash bays are likely another choice to help remove salt and contaminents from under the body and suspension area.
Old 01-02-2011, 06:35 AM
TOGWT
Melting Slicks

Location: Ponte Vedra Beach / London State: Dazed and confused
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Dry salt is inert, it takes moisture to make it corrosive, and if you add heat to the equation it accelerates the process.