Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Microfiber Towels - My Experience

Old 11-30-2014, 12:07 AM
Grzldvt1
Le Mans Master

Received 635 Likes on 341 Posts

Default Microfiber Towels - My Experience

I have seen many, many questions on MF towels, so let me state up front, I am an apparent MF towel expert. I have had several Korean/China Weavers/Manufacturers contact me due to a website I had up about MF towels. I have taken it down due to an inordinate amount of spam and hacking. I think the entire Senior 2013 class of Chinese Computer Science students tried to hack into my online store. The good news is I never held customer CC information but they tried to use it as a redirect.
I own a high end detailing shop in Silicon Valley and my customer base would make a lot of people pee in their pants. Won't name any names but you don't get there if your are a hack. Nuff said, here is what I had on my website that attracted attention:

In my travels I have discovered people are a bit confused about Microfiber towels. I will try and clear a few things up with this post. I have tested over 200 different types of Microfiber towels, it is definitely not a small, small world…..

Why Do You Want Quality Towels for Auto Detailing?
Have you ever seen a black car with all those fine scratches in the finish? Those fine scratches really take away from the shine.
Light reflecting off of a flat surface is much bright than what is reflected off of a bumpy surface. Those fine scratches/swirls are a bumpy surface, albeit they are pretty tiny, but nonetheless they are a detraction and will reduce the shine your paint will have.
Those fine swirls are generally caused by using poor quality wash equipment/techniques and towels for drying. Microfiber towels help reduce those fine scratches

What are Microfiber Towels?