Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

C5 very rough paint. What correction to use?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2018, 09:29 AM
Sub8
Pro

Received 107 Likes on 94 Posts

Default C5 very rough paint. What correction to use?

Hi guys. I have a track c5 Z06 black paint. Very rough. Lots of deep scratches all over.

I have some basic detailing experience - what will get me the best results. I had read that the body / paint is very 'hard' on these cars and as such needs a more heavy duty pad / compound. Is that true?

Will a good DA be sufficient? I'm a little reluctant to go rotary for fear of damaging the paint. Also my other cars wouldn't need a rotary. So a bit of a one use purchase.

Any advice welcome. Thanks.
Old 06-09-2018, 11:53 AM
Homer3D
Melting Slicks

Received 134 Likes on 114 Posts

Unless you know how to use a rotary, don’t. If you don’t know what you are doing you can end up burning the paint. My DA (Flex 3401vrg) worked just fine on my corvette. When detailing, you always want to start with the “least aggressive” method first. If you find that didn’t give you the results you are looking for, step up to next level. There are tons of pads and polishes out there with varying degrees of “cutting”. I am sure you can find a combo that will work for your car well before needing to step up to a rotary buffer.

A popular option that many people (even pro detailers) use is the Porter Cable 7424 XP. For product, check out Meguiar's M105 and M205. They work great and can usually find them in most automotive stores.

With my Flex I have 3 pads; light, medium, and heavy cut with corresponding polishes. To take care of my 2013 GS (also black) I only need the first 2 (light and medium). I was very happy with the results.

The following users liked this post:
FYRARMS (06-09-2018)
Old 06-09-2018, 12:45 PM
FYRARMS
Le Mans Master

Received 3,235 Likes on 1,589 Posts