Car Care Discussion Car Detailing Info, Wax, Wheel Polish, Interior Cleaning Tips for the Corvette

Glaze/Sealer before wax?

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2018, 02:33 PM
NmtMev
Drifting

Received 97 Likes on 67 Posts
Default Glaze/Sealer before wax?

Hey all,

I spent the better part of the morning detailing my car.

I used an orbital and applied a coat of this stuff...

Then I buffed the paint out and applied a coat of this..

I have to say I'm quite pleased with the results I've never done it this way before. usually I just clay bar then wax... but this combo really put a shine on the car I haven't seen since I owned it.
When I get her out in the sun in a little I'll post a proper picture.

How often should I uses glaze/Sealer type of product. These will do cause had them laying around. Is it something that's done after every claybar? or also in between waxes? thanks!
Old 07-25-2018, 03:16 PM
FYRARMS
Le Mans Master

Received 3,236 Likes on 1,590 Posts

Originally Posted by NmtMev
How often should I uses glaze/Sealer type of product.
Hard to say. It depends on how much weather/sun your car sees, and how good of a product you use. Each sealant is different. For daily drivers, some people apply good quality sealants 2 or 3 times per year. For my daily driver, I give it a full detail twice per year, including a light machine polish and new sealant. I do use a synthetic spray wax (sealant) after each wash to help extend the life of my base sealant.

Is it something that's done after every claybar?
Claybarring usually will remove whatever sealant or wax you have on your finish. So, yes.

also in between waxes?
You do not apply glaze or sealant between waxes. Glaze and sealant is to be applied to clean, wax-free paint. That is so it can bond properly. If you apply glaze and/or sealant on top of wax, it will simply come off when the wax does, which is often.