Drag Racing Results, Trap Speed, Reaction Time, Driving Technique, Tips for Running the Corvette in the ¼ & 1/8 mile, Events

Need help understanding my timeslips

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2017, 12:41 PM
DozerC6
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Need help understanding my timeslips

I have a 2016 Callaway Z06 A8 3LZ that I’ve taken to the track a couple of times. I have attached my two slips from last night. I’m confused by my 2nd pass. I had a better 60’ time but then the performance drops off (not sure why) but then my ¼ MPH is higher than my 1st pass. How can all of the other measures be worse for most of the pass but then the MPH be better at the end?

I’m new to drag racing so this doesn’t seem logical to me.

Thanks,
-Paul

Last edited by DozerC6; 05-11-2017 at 12:50 PM.
Old 05-11-2017, 03:10 PM
Keith Richards
Drifting

Received 612 Likes on 361 Posts

Are you paddle shifting or leaving in D? Looks like your shift between 60' -330' were different RPM or you had some wheelspin after 60' on #2. What was the wind doing? Head or tail from one run to the other or stronger from one run to the other? Also that 60' in the second run could indicate you were much shallower in the beam so had more run at the start line when the timer is tripped. Your MPH at 1/8th is down 1 mph in the second pass as well so either different shift point or wheelspin.

Last edited by Keith Richards; 05-11-2017 at 03:16 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by Keith Richards:
bigsapper (05-14-2017), DozerC6 (05-12-2017)
Old 05-12-2017, 01:04 PM
DozerC6
Instructor

Originally Posted by Keith Richards