Engine Mods Outrageous Builds, High-Horsepower Modifications, strokers, and big cams for the Corvette

Catch Cans

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2017, 10:55 AM
kupitz
Instructor

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Catch Cans

Since buying my C6Z and my first LS motor I have been reading about catch cans and benefits of them for the LS motors. This weekend I attended Super Chevy at Maple Grove and also went to an all Corvette car show on Sunday. I was looking for them on all LS motors and I found exactly 1 out of about 40-50 cars with a catch can installed.

So, now I am questioning if I should get one, why so many without if the benefits are there that everyone claims?
Old 07-23-2017, 10:07 AM
David@MMS
Supporting Vendor

Received 221 Likes on 153 Posts

I do this stuff for a living, but instead of the sales pitch approach plaguing these forums;

Most cars on the road today indeed have no catch can, and the owners are satisfied.

All cars have some level of oil consumption, it is unavoidable. This can be negligible to the owner, or something you want improved.

There are also reasons that the ventilation system needs to be modified, for example as a support system to other HP modifications.

If you think you are like most people, let a dealer handle maintenance, do not run low on engine oil before the next change, and feel your car is performing perfectly fine, then a catch can is not for you.

But if you have measurable oil consumption, or mods increasing crankcase airflow (power mods), or interested in engine bay accessorizing, then a catch can is a great idea.

What I suggest to anyone on the fence is to take a few minutes to inspect the system. Unhook and remove the airbox filter assembly to the throttle body. Use a flashlight to inspect the airbox, and cold air tubing leading to the throttle body. Any liquid oil here can be improved. Then push open the throttle blade and look back into the intake manifold here. Is it clean and dry or a drippy mess?