Intros New Corvetteforum member introductions & welcomes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I am (very) lucky to be here!

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2018, 06:24 AM
theplatinumog
Burning Brakes

Received 243 Likes on 154 Posts
C7 of Year Finalist (track prepared) 2019
Default I am (very) lucky to be here!

Hello everyone,

My name is John. My handle on almost everything is theplatinumog. How much time do you have? Because I have a pretty incredible story I would like to share with everyone. The story of how I "retired" at 26. However, it is not something I would recommend to anyone. WARNING: if you are squeamish with trauma type injuries, you need to leave now and not scroll down.

So there I was, 26 years old. I was a tennis professional. I played some challengers / future type ATP tournaments, but won most of my prize money playing USTA open stuff. Teaching was more lucrative for me. I would do that until I had enough money to go blow it on tour. I'm not sure I would have ever retired from tournament prize money, but I do know I was very happy.

I was driving to my parents house from Sacramento. I was out sorta by Abel Chevrolet in Isleton / Rio Vista California. It is a levee road with steep drop offs on both sides. It is far out in the middle of nowhere. One lane of traffic in each direction, but freeway speeds. A ___ truck crossed over double yellows and hit me head on at those freeway speeds!

***gruesome parts***