Go Back  CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion > Off Topic > Off Topic
Reload this Page >

My 8hp Masterblaster keeps tripping the fuse box

Off Topic Off Topic | Non-Corvette

My 8hp Masterblaster keeps tripping the fuse box

 
Old 03-14-2019, 08:28 PM
  #21  
DOOKEY
CF Senior Member
 
DOOKEY's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 2008
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 2,488
Thanked 111 Times in 91 Posts
Default

Have you tried not using it?
DOOKEY is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 09:19 PM
  #22  
Meh
CF Senior Member
 
Meh's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2006
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 25,776
Thanked 35 Times in 20 Posts
Default

I had to look up the device in question. That's a lot of money for something to dry off your car. You must have an impressive wax collection.
Meh is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 09:23 PM
  #23  
tcotta411
CF Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Member Since: Mar 2014
Location: Charlotte North Carolina
Posts: 1,441
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
Default

Wax collection? No. Polish collection, yes.

Actually my car has been coated with CQuartz. No real need for polishing or waxing.

Thanks for the responses. I now know I need to seek the services of an electrician.
tcotta411 is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 09:27 PM
  #24  
BOTYNV1
CF Senior Member
 
BOTYNV1's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2006
Location: Title town, Champs live here.
Posts: 54,503
Thanked 83 Times in 61 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19

Default

Originally Posted by KenHorse View Post
Well actually, he could use an undersize extension that will limit the current draw

(but it will also make a nice heater!)
BOTYNV1 is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 09:30 PM
  #25  
Meh
CF Senior Member
 
Meh's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2006
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 25,776
Thanked 35 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tcotta411 View Post
Wax collection? No. Polish collection, yes.

Actually my car has been coated with CQuartz. No real need for polishing or waxing.



Last edited by Meh; 03-14-2019 at 09:30 PM.
Meh is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 09:32 PM
  #26  
TyBoo
CF Senior Member
 
TyBoo's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2015
Posts: 588
Thanked 225 Times in 134 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Meh View Post
I had to look up the device in question. That's a lot of money for something to dry off your car. You must have an impressive wax collection.
That's what I thought until i got one. It not only dries off the car and truck, it takes off the dust accumulation the car gets sitting in the garage, cleans out the interior of the truck, cleans out the interior of the car when the top is down, cleans out the crevices in the seats and under the seats, cleans the convertible top, cleans off most of the crud that sticks to the rear end of the car, and dries my granddaughter's Golden Retriever - all without touching the surface. It works so well for the dog that she is buying one for her boyfriend to use on his truck so she has it there for the mutt.

It does take a little longer than towels to completely dry the surface, but it gets the water out that the towels can't reach and dries everything. My black car really appreciates it!
TyBoo is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 09:35 PM
  #27  
tcotta411
CF Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Member Since: Mar 2014
Location: Charlotte North Carolina
Posts: 1,441
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
Default

^^^^^^ what he said^^^^^^

I had the 4hp and upgraded to the 8hp.

Never regretted it.

Last edited by tcotta411; 03-14-2019 at 09:36 PM.
tcotta411 is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 10:42 PM
  #28  
Meh
CF Senior Member
 
Meh's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2006
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 25,776
Thanked 35 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Is it like the air version of this?

Meh is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 10:47 PM
  #29  
TyBoo
CF Senior Member
 
TyBoo's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 2015
Posts: 588
Thanked 225 Times in 134 Posts
Default

Close, but not quite. You do want to have a good grip on the hose when you switch it on.

There are two types of people who need the Master Blaster for drying a car: Perfectionists and lazy people. I am the latter.
TyBoo is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 11:18 PM
  #30  
Meh
CF Senior Member
 
Meh's Avatar
 
Member Since: Apr 2006
Location: Monterey, CA
Posts: 25,776
Thanked 35 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Do you have a 4-prong dryer outlet (NEMA 14-30) in the vicinity of where you are working? If so, something like this might do the trick.

Amazon Amazon
Meh is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 09:28 AM
  #31  
Humanoid 2.0
CF Senior Member
 
Humanoid 2.0's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jul 2004
Location: .... NJ
Posts: 75,652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Cruise-In VII Veteran
St. Jude Donor '05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18

Default

Originally Posted by FLTCRW View Post
Hi, I'm an electrical contractor, what you need is dedicated 20 amp circuit for just this piece of equipment. Don't replace electric breaker for bigger one, the breaker is sized according to wire size. Sorry I'm in Oregon
This
Humanoid 2.0 is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 11:09 AM
  #32  
slow_zo6
CF Senior Member
 
slow_zo6's Avatar
 
Member Since: Mar 2018
Location: WV
Posts: 331
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Same here-about to sell this overrated pos. It doesn’t do that good of a job and actually takes longer than hand drying.
slow_zo6 is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 11:24 AM
  #33  
ratflinger
NCM Grand Opening Veteran
Support Corvetteforum!
 
ratflinger's Avatar
 
Member Since: Sep 2005
Location: Obscurification is a practicable art!
Posts: 14,594
Thanked 38 Times in 31 Posts
St. Jude Donor '11, '17
Default

Do not just change the breaker Unless you have verified 12ga wire on that circuit. Unless you spec'ed 12ga wiring the electricians that wired your house probably used 14g cause it meets code and is cheaper. You must run a 12/2 wire from the panel (where you have a 20a breaker) to a 20a outlet for that unit. Generally why it's best when building a house to run all circuits except lights as 20a.

Can you push 20a down 14ga - yes, but you increase the fire hazard.
ratflinger is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 11:29 AM
  #34  
tcotta411
CF Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Member Since: Mar 2014
Location: Charlotte North Carolina
Posts: 1,441
Thanked 45 Times in 40 Posts
Default

Only 4-prong is in the laundry room. Too far away.
tcotta411 is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 03:13 PM
  #35  
CurtP
CF Senior Member
 
CurtP's Avatar
 
Member Since: May 2004
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Posts: 14,057
Thanked 15 Times in 7 Posts
Default

I'm calling BS on the 8hp rating.
CurtP is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 03:32 PM
  #36  
PatternDayTrader
CF Senior Member
 
PatternDayTrader's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2008
Location: Lansing MI and Houston TX
Posts: 8,867
Thanked 752 Times in 582 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by DOOKEY View Post
Have you tried not using it?
This is how I would handle the situation.
PatternDayTrader is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 06:25 PM
  #37  
Gordon Shumway
CF Senior Member
 
Gordon Shumway's Avatar
 
Member Since: Feb 2008
Location: Ocala FL
Posts: 21,630
Thanked 9 Times in 2 Posts
Default

If you are looking for a 20 amp circuit check your laundry room, which is likely close to the garage. The washing machine outlet should be 20 amp. Of course, you could always just look in the breaker box to find one.
Gordon Shumway is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 07:46 PM
  #38  
BadUmp
CF Senior Member
 
BadUmp's Avatar
 
Member Since: Aug 2014
Location: Monaco
Posts: 17,395
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ratflinger View Post
Do not just change the breaker Unless you have verified 12ga wire on that circuit. Unless you spec'ed 12ga wiring the electricians that wired your house probably used 14g cause it meets code and is cheaper. You must run a 12/2 wire from the panel (where you have a 20a breaker) to a 20a outlet for that unit. Generally why it's best when building a house to run all circuits except lights as 20a.

Can you push 20a down 14ga - yes, but you increase the fire hazard.
at about $0.05 per foot more for 12-2 I don't understand why the whole dang house isn't done with just 12-2 and just make most things 20a. People are just going to overload things anyway so take that out of the mix if possible . . .
BadUmp is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 08:44 PM
  #39  
PatternDayTrader
CF Senior Member
 
PatternDayTrader's Avatar
 
Member Since: Oct 2008
Location: Lansing MI and Houston TX
Posts: 8,867
Thanked 752 Times in 582 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BadUmp View Post
at about $0.05 per foot more for 12-2 I don't understand why the whole dang house isn't done with just 12-2 and just make most things 20a. People are just going to overload things anyway so take that out of the mix if possible . . .
No kidding.
PatternDayTrader is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 08:49 PM
  #40  
Grumpy
MONARTOR
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Member Since: Aug 2001
Location: What I know, is dwarfed by what I pretend to know
Posts: 193,185
Thanked 35 Times in 16 Posts
Cruise-In 5-6-7-8 Veteran
St. Jude '03-'04-'05-'06-'07-'08-'09-10-'11-12-'13-'14-'15-'16-17-'18
NCM Sinkhole Donor

Default

Originally Posted by tcotta411 View Post
Wax collection? No. Polish collection, yes.

Actually my car has been coated with CQuartz. No real need for polishing or waxing.

Thanks for the responses. I now know I need to seek the services of an electrician.
angies list
Grumpy is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: My 8hp Masterblaster keeps tripping the fuse box


Sponsored Ads
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: