Other Cars Non-Corvette Content, Daily Drivers, Winter Beaters, Work Trucks, Tow Vehicles, for sale

Northstar Reliability?

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2009, 10:10 AM
Scatterbrained
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Northstar Reliability?

I'm looking at a Caddy with a Northstar engine for a daily driver, and I wondered about the reliability of these, since I have no experience with them. Anyone have any insight into them? I haven't heard anything bad, but then I haven't done any research either...

Scatter'd
Old 08-11-2009, 07:16 PM
Bullman
Instructor

I would pass. Those things are cheap for a reason. IIRC, the entire motor has to be replaced if a head gasket goes out. FYI, I had an 02 Aurora (4.0 Northstar) and the motor itself was great but I only had it for a little over a year. Good power and sounded nice. The rest of the car though was in constant need of maintainence/repairs (a/c system, crankshaft position sensors, 3 steering shafts, cv joints, etc). Fuel economy on the freeway was about 24-25 which was not so bad considering the size of the car. I got tired of dumping money into it and got rid of it. IMO, it was just not cool enough to justify the hassle. YMMV.

Bullman

Originally Posted by Scatterbrained
I'm looking at a Caddy with a Northstar engine for a daily driver, and I wondered about the reliability of these, since I have no experience with them. Anyone have any insight into them? I haven't heard anything bad, but then I haven't done any research either...

Scatter'd
Old 08-12-2009, 10:47 AM
Kebrock
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
St. Jude Donor '11

I had a 94 STS and had really no major problems with it other than normal maintenance. The only thing of noteworthyness was the starter went out. I had the car from about 75,000 miles to around 120,000 miles.
Old 08-12-2009, 11:45 AM
FU
NCM Lifetime # 982
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 26 Likes on 21 Posts