Other Cars Non-Corvette Content, Daily Drivers, Winter Beaters, Work Trucks, Tow Vehicles, for sale

URGENT HELP... Advise on Norstar engine

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2011, 01:37 PM
weinerschizel
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default URGENT HELP... Advise on Norstar engine

I was in a bad car wreck yesterday. Really need a car bad now.

Looking at a cadiallac with the northstar engine. It's an elderado, 1997 135k miles good shape. But I know nothing of the northstar engine / drivetrain in these things.

Is it pretty ruggid? Will it last up in the hundreds of thousands of miles?

I have a lot of experience with 3100, 3800 engines, LT and LS series small blocks but never touched a northstar drive train.

Just don't want to buy it and get plagued with problems.
Old 01-17-2011, 02:58 PM
PeterK
Team Owner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
St. Jude Donor '12
2012 Election Contest Winner

No. The ns engines are best known for blown head gaskets which is very expensive to fix
Old 01-17-2011, 04:14 PM
FU
NCM Lifetime # 982
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 26 Likes on 21 Posts
St. Jude Donor '06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-'20

What he said. Headgasket problems.
Old 01-17-2011, 05:31 PM
BRTC5
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default This is what I heard.

The heads are aluminum held on by iron or steel bolts. The metals expand and contract at different rates as well as corrode differently which causes the gasket failure. Stay away!
Old 01-18-2011, 02:32 PM
weinerschizel
Pro

Originally Posted by BRTC5
The heads are aluminum held on by iron or steel bolts. The metals expand and contract at different rates as well as corrode differently which causes the gasket failure. Stay away!
Yeah that's what my research had shown too. When I looked at the car it was in immaculate condition however, engine compartment could barely accomdate my pinki finger.