Pacific Northwest Idaho | Oregon | Washington | Hawaii | Alaska.

Front license plate law

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2007, 01:20 AM
PaulC6Z
Racer

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Front license plate law

I was issued a ticket for not having my front license plate mounted, although I had it in my trunk and tried explaining to the LEO the reason for that and instead of listening to me, he was more worried about what I do for a living (I am Deuce's wifey). I am going to fight it, any tips???
Old 04-19-2007, 01:36 AM
Mr. Peabody
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 477 Likes on 353 Posts
C4 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

You've got nothing to loose by fighting it. Often you can get away with it if it's on the dashboard but if there's a good reason for it to be in the trunk? You could try explaining it to the judge
Old 04-19-2007, 05:43 AM
Herringchoker
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Location: "Man been singin' the Blues, since he began to till the ground"...Vancouver, USA WA.
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

If you prove you now have it mounted, the ticket should go away. This happened to a friend of mine. Good luck!
Old 04-19-2007, 08:51 AM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 476 Likes on 423 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

Here's the RCW on front plates: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.16.240

LEO's will occasionally use a no front plate violation to stop a car and check people out. This may be why you were asked what you did, or any other questions not entirely related to the offense itself.

You should be able to get the ticket backed out; the court may tell you to have the car inspected by the WSP or local PD/SO and have them show on the ticket that the violation was corrected.
Old 04-19-2007, 10:25 AM
salsa1jim
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Herringchoker
If you prove you now have it mounted, the ticket should go away. This happened to a friend of mine. Good luck!