Pacific Northwest Idaho | Oregon | Washington | Hawaii | Alaska.

Electric Cars - really?

Old 03-09-2019, 04:59 PM
last901
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 88 Likes on 77 Posts

Default Electric Cars - really?

I sometimes wonder if given GM's toe-in-the-water attempts at electric, they might not overlook Corvette as a benefactor of the technology, as Ferrari has (to a ver small degree) A friend of mine sent me this article and while it might be more germane to an off-topic, inn topic, I didn't;t think it would get the read - or the response - from the NW Forum. Is the advent of the electric car a political issue or an environmental issue? I confess, I do not know the original source of the article, but...

After all, this is a Forum, right?

Interesting Take on Electric Cars This is for Engineers out there, surely there should be a rebuttal to this article. Say it isn't true!As an engineer I love the electric vehicle technology. However, I have been troubled for a longtime by the fact that the electrical energy to keep the batteries charged has to come from the grid and that means more power generation and a huge increase in the distribution infrastructure. Whether generated from coal, gas, oil, wind or sun, installed generation capacity is limited. A friend sent me the following that says it very well. You should all take a look at this short article.INTERESTING - ONE OTHER QUESTION. IF ELECTRIC CARS DO NOT USE GASOLINE, THEY WILL NOT PARTICIPATE IN PAYING A GASOLINE TAX ON EVERY GALLON THAT IS SOLD FOR AUTOMOBILES, WHICH WAS ENACTED SOME YEARS AGO TO HELP TO MAINTAIN OUR ROADS AND BRIDGES. THEY WILL USE THE ROADS, BUT WILL NOT PAY FOR THEIR MAINTENANCE!In case you were thinking of buying an electric car:Ever since the advent of electric cars, the REAL cost per mile of those things has never been discussed. All you ever heard was the mpg in terms of gasoline, with nary a mention of the cost of electricity to run it . This is the first article I've