Sata 3000 and 4000 HVLP and RP guns questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2012, 09:49 PM
Stan's Customs
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 88 Likes on 66 Posts

Default Sata 3000 and 4000 HVLP and RP guns questions

I'm going to buy a used Sata 3000 or 4000 HVLP or RP for a finish gun....and have some questions.

I haven't painted much in a loong time...but what I have done was mostly acrylic enamel back in the day. I had a knack for it back then and always had very good results....so maybe learning all over with newer paints and guns won't be too daunting a task.

I have built a new shop addition with good lighting and although it isn't a booth it will be well equipped. I was a mechanic by trade ...so have been around this type thing alll my life and already have a "lot" of equipment, including a large commercial compressor.

I've always had cheap guns and made do....this time I want something better. Last chance to do it...whatever I buy will last till I'm unable to do it I'm sure.

Back to Sata paint guns..

I plan on buying a used gun..rather than new. My project is a 1961 Corvette resto mod. It could be Honduras Maroon metallic base /clear, or single stage black, or black base/ clear. PPG...

I just haven't decided for sure...but likely black of some kind.

I'm leaning toward a 3000 or 4000 RP Sata with a 1.2 tip. I know nearly everyone uses a 1.3 tip for a do it all choice....but the RP is supposedly fast and I'm not sure that I wouldn't be better off with a 1.2 to slow down things a little and also imagine that the smaller tip results in a finer spray (..or better atomization). Naturally little or no orange peel is the goal...I don't particularly want to sand and buff for a couple of weeks getting a lot of orange peel out.

...and I know where a Sata 3000 RP/1.2 is for $300 or so. ( I assume that the HVLP is more popular...but I like the atomization characteristics of the higher pressure RP gun I think?)