Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

It is worth buying a salvage corvette?

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2016, 05:42 AM
PeterJ1238
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default It is worth buying a salvage corvette?

Hey here, I am pretty new to this, so bear with me. (I hope I'm putting this in the right place :P). I am looking at getting a salvage, to repair, after hearing that this is a good way to save money by some old friends that did this years ago. I know of the issues with high insurance costs etc. but considering the vehicles are so cheap, should still save money in the medium term. What do you think about taking on a project like this? Here is the one that's similar to those I've been looking at.

https://www.autoauctionmall.com/auctions/corvette

Any advice? Would you take a project like this?
Old 07-25-2016, 11:05 AM
Rickman
Burning Brakes

Received 18 Likes on 11 Posts

Peter,

My thoughts at no charge:

1. Look at it this way- these vehicles are available because even the professionals don't want them! The pros would take on a project like this for one reason: to make $$. Should you take on a project like this, you need to be careful not to put more $$ into the vehicle than it is worth.

2. Are your friends helping with this? What is your skill level and experience? Do you have the time and indoor location to take on such a project? Don't take on more than you can chew. Otherwise you will be selling an incomplete project and really losing your ***!

3. Figure your budget, and narrow down the type of Vette you are seeking. Then go to that respective General Discussion (C5, for example) and ask those guys vs. this general paint/body section.

4. One last point- salvage may mean "flood car". Dunno 'bout you, but I don't want anything to do with a flood car. Reports show that the potential for lifelong electrical probs is very high.

Best wishes for a successful project. Bring it to Carlisle next year & look me up.

Rickman