Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

How far down do you normally razorblade?

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2017, 07:59 AM
BDoc
Racer

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default How far down do you normally razorblade?

I'm new to this and can't really tell what layer I'm at. It seems like I'm hitting various layers of primer in different colors of grey and white, but while the paint came off pretty easily, I don't think this grey layer could be razorbladded off. It's on there real good. Is it safe to begin filling in nicks and dings with evercoat at this stage, or do I need to strip further? It doesn't look like it, but what you're seeing in the photos is actually all the same height layer. If you run your fingers across it, it's all smooth.

Old 03-05-2017, 05:10 PM
Mr D.
Team Owner

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,486 Likes on 1,003 Posts

I have never used razor blades but I'm guessing you will just get the paint off not the primer.
Old 03-05-2017, 05:34 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

FOR WHATEVER THIS IS WORTH TO OTHERS:

IF a person is using a razor blade and does not know when to stop...or how far down they need to go. It is wise to take a piece of sand paper (80 grit) and sand down the finish until you get to the fiberglass or SMC...that way...you will know what layer is right on top of the body material. I would assume people should know where to sand because that is common sense.

Now to answer the question. STOP at the dark grey sealer. Sand it all off and THEN do your filling repairs with the Vette Panel Adhesive.

DUB
Old 03-11-2017, 08:23 PM
BDoc
Racer

Thanks. I'm trying to teach myself some new skills, so although I may not be doing things right, at least I am learning and bettering myself.

I just want to make sure I'm clear on your wording. When you say to "sand it all off," are you saying to sand off the dark grey sealer and take it all the way down to the glass?
Old 03-12-2017, 05:31 PM
DUB