Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Jetstream Blue Caliper Paint?

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2017, 03:57 PM
DubGA
Intermediate

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Jetstream Blue Caliper Paint?

I've done some searching and can't find any info. I know some vendors sell caliper covers that can be painted your oem color, but does anyone make brake caliper paint in something that is a close match to Jetstream Blue?

Or has anyone ever used automotive base/clear on a set of calipers? If so, how did it hold up?
Old 09-16-2017, 06:29 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

I am NOT passing judgement on you or how you want to do this. It is your car...so it is your choice.

I am NO expert on this...but for me. Painting the caliper in basecoat/clearcoat can be done but you would have to worry about a proper ground coat that would allow for adhesion...then it has to do with the THOROUGH cleaning of the caliper so it will adhere.....THEN it would depend on if the brake pads are putting off hot brake pad dust and that hot brake pad dust has enough heat to it to stick onto the paint and actually melt into it. THEN you would have to consider the possibility of brake fluid getting on what was just applied and ruining it if it can be effected by DOT 3 brake fluid. I have seen people paint calipers while at a Corvette gathering...and with all of the taping and what-not is a joke in my opinion due to they are not even getting the surface clean...they are just spraying something on a caliper to make it look good from 50 feet away. SO painting them on the car is something I would never do. In my 'book; 'Do it right or don't do it at all'.