Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Best paint gun for the money?

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2018, 07:38 AM
Etz
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Best paint gun for the money?

Looking to get a descent gun. I am not a pro and nor do I plan to become one. That being said I have three cars that I will be spraying in the near future and can justify a descent gun. Now don’t chastise me, but I have been using a cheap Harbor Freighr gun that has worked well for me. I have a couple of old Sharpes, but the HF gun is working much better. Just want something to lay down B/C. Suggestions?
Old 09-26-2018, 09:13 AM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Obviously gravity feed is much better than an old suction feed gun.

AS for giving you a name of a good inexpensive paint gun to use. I can not do that due to all i have are the top of the line HVLP guns which I need to work flawlessly for me due to I paint for a living.

I can say that a paint gun that has more holes in the air cap is generally BETTER than the paint gun that does not have the same number of holes in it. These holes is where the air is atomizing your paint stream that is coming out of your gun via gravity.. More holes = better atomization.

This may matter in some paint due to the basecoat is thicker than some paints where the basecoat is much thinner when mixed. So it all depends.

I know I have shot with some guns that were really the low budget paint gun and did well due to tweaking the mix of the paint adn knowing how to adjust the gun for optimum results. So testing your gun is wise before you just jump in and shoot the car. NOT every gun or paint system likes it when the gun is set to FULLTRIGGER PULL when it is being used or paint applied. I set my gun to 2 to 2-1/2 turns out on the fluid control. Thus...the trigger NEVER goes all the way back to where it can go.