Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Bogus repair shop "quote"?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2019, 05:43 PM
Project1976
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bogus repair shop "quote"?

Hey guys! I am very new to the world of corvettes and just as new to the world of fiberglass. I recently picked up a 1976 Corvette that for sure needs a little TLC on the outside. But then again, that's what I bought her for; a project for my boy and me. I just heard back from an auto body place in the Phoenix area that claimed to have experience dealing with Corvettes and older classic cars and basically was told that my new project is a lost cause. His email went as follows:

"SO LOOKING AT THE PICTURES THE CAR NEEDS A LOT OF WORK, I COULDNT EVEN GIVE YOU A PRICE ON IT. I WOULD HAVE TO STRIP THE WHOLE BODY DOWN AND PRETTY MUCH REDO ALL THE FIBERGLASS ON MOST OF THE BODY. YOU WOULD BE INTO THE CAR FOR THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND THATS NOT EVEN THE PAINT WORK, IT WOULD BE CHEAPER TO BUY ANOTHER CAR WITH A GOOD BODY THEN TO REPAIR THAT ONE."

I intend to learn and do as much as I can on my own but I was curious what an "experienced classic car shop" would charge. It makes it easier to convince my wife to let me buy new tools. Lol

Based on the transformations I have seen on this forum I am calling BS on his claim but I figured I would reach out to you guys that have been playing this game a lot longer than I have and get some opinions. Here are a few photos of the project and some of the areas that I intend to work on.

Driver's side door (I imagine someone opened it into a wall or another vehicle?)

Passenger's side front bumper

Old holes from luggage rack and a few from an old spoiler of sorts